Being vegan often means preparing home cooked meals since most chain and fast food restaurants don’t provide vegan options. While there are some restaurants out there that cater to the growing vegan demographic – “Salad and Go” or “Pita Jungle” -sometimes those options aren’t available. But there are ways to order vegan at many places if you know what to substitute and what to leave out. Here is the inside scoop on how to eat vegan at seven easy-to-find fast food places.
Starbucks has lots of vegan options available on it’s menu. Most of them contain the words “soy” and “latte” like the Soy Hazelnut Latte, the Peppermint Mocha Soy Latte and the Iced Vanilla Soy Latte. However there are a couple of other drinks hiding on the menu, such as the Pike Place Roast, that are just as delicious and just as vegan. (1)
If none of the aforementioned drinks strike your fancy, you can order most of Starbucks other drinks vegan. Simply ask to hold any whipped cream, java chips, protein powder, or caramel drizzle that might be added. (2) To make your coffee a little more creamy add soy milk. It will cost a little extra but it’s worth it.
Starbucks even has a few food items on it’s menu if you need something to munch on, namely: Hippeas, fruit salads, dried fruit, roasted almonds, mixed nuts, dark-chocolate bars, sea salt potato chips, plain and multigrain bagels, raw granola bars, fruit snacks and oatmeal with steamed soy milk.
Although none of the donuts they offer are vegan, Dunkin’ Donuts has a variety of breakfast foods that are. Almost all of Dunkin’ Donuts bagels are vegan. Only the sour cream and onion, sour cream and onion with a twist, cheddar cheese, and whole wheat bagel are not vegan. The Hash Browns, English Muffin, French Rolls and Pretzel Twists are also vegan treats. (3)
While Dunkin’ may not have quite as an extensive selection for their coffee as Starbucks, they have plenty of delicious drinks. Unlike Starbucks they make their vegan coffee with almond milk instead of soy.
Most of Dunkin’s coffee can be made vegan by ordering almond no whip (such as the Blueberry, Caramel, Cinnamon, Hazelnut, Mocha, Peppermint Raspberry, and Toasted Almond flavors). You can also get a Hot, Iced or Peppermint Mocha Latte made with almond milk.
If you love inexpensive Mexican food Taco Bell is the best place to go. It may get a little wordy when you’re ordering but you can change most of the menu items to vegan standards.
To get a vegan Taco Salad ask for beans instead of beef and to hold the cheese and sour cream. It’s pretty much the same order for vegan Tacos only tacos don’t come with sour cream so you only have to ask to hold the cheese.
You can get a Seven-Layer Burrito, Bean Burrito or Black Bean Burrito with no cheese or sour cream (just ask for it “fresco”) and voila, a delicious tortilla wrapped vegan meal.
With the Crunchwrap or Double Decker Taco you can ask for beans instead of beef, and no to cheese or sour cream to get something vegan but also high in protein.
The vegan Tostada is ordered by hold the cheese and the creamy chipotle sauce. Similarly a vegan Mexican Pizza can be ordered by substituting beef for beans and removing the cheese.
Finally the Veggie Power Burrito becomes vegan when you hold the cheese, sour cream, or avocado ranch sauce. (4)
Download BlueStacks For PC Windows 7/8/8.1/10/XP Laptop For Free. Download I have provided the latest version here, which is BlueStacks 2. Download Bluestacks 2 Bluestacks is an android emulator that allows the users to run android apps on Windows 7/8/8.1/10 and Mac.
If you are looking for something sweet to finish your meal with Taco bell also has one completely vegan dessert on it’s menu. You don’t even have to ask to hold any of the ingredients. The Cinnamon Twists are quite tasty perfect for finishing off a meal with. (5)
If you feel like Mexican food that won’t give you indigestion. Chipotle is one of the easiest places to order vegan at since they make the food right in front of you. However there are still a few tricks to ordering vegan at chipotle that you may not know about.
The typical way to order vegan at Chipotle is to get the sofritas and hold the sour cream and cheese. But if you skip the tofu you can get a scoop of guacamole at no additional charge. Amazing, right!?
And if you were worried, unlike some Mexican restaurants, Chipotle beans are cooked without lard. Unfortunately, the chipotle honey vinaigrette is not vegan. (although you probably could have guessed that) Every other salsa or dip is vegan.
If you are extra hungry you can always ask for an extra scoop of fajita veggies. The extra cost is well worth the extra satisfied feeling. (6)
Variety is the spice of life. Life would be dreadfully boring without options. Luckily restaurants like Wendy’s strive to provide options to all their potential customers.
As of right now Wendy’s is the only burger joint to offer a vegan substitute, the black bean burger. Unfortunately they only serve the black bean burger in a few places namely: Columbus, Ohio; Salt Lake City, Utah; and Columbia, South Carolina. (7) If you aren’t fortunate enough to live in one of those select locations here’s how you can order vegan off the regular menu.
Every Wendy’s offers a plain baked potatoes, salads and veggie sandwiches. The plain baked potato and the french fries are both already vegan classics.
Get any salad without croutons , chicken or bleu cheese and stick to Light Spicy Asian Chili Vinaigrette, Pomegranate Vinaigrette Dressing or Lite Balsamic Vinaigrette for the dressing.
Order the veggie sandwich with no mayo. It includes everything on the classic Wendy’s burger except the meat — it’s one of their secret menu items. (8)
The great thing about subway is they make your food your way. And that includes vegan! For the most part ordering vegan at subway is pretty straight forward. Don’t get any cheese or meat. But even without any cheese or meat you can accidentally order a non-vegan sandwich. Here’s how to be sure you are ordering vegan from Subway.
The biggest mistake people make when they are trying to order a sandwich vegan is they forget about the condiments. The devil is in the details. This is the best advice I can give about ordering vegan “beware of condiments!” Unfortunately mayo, ranch, the italian dressing and the chipotle sauce are not vegan but the Deli Brown Mustard, Fat Free Sweet Onion, Oil, Yellow Mustard, and Red Wine Vinegar are! (9)
Everyone loves pizza and luckily no one has to give up completely on this American staple. At Pizza Hut be sure to order either the natural or the natural old world sauce. And make sure to get either the thin or the gluten free crust. Although your sauce and crust choices might be limited you can get as any veggies as you want. (10)
Although eating vegan requires some adjustments, you can find ways to eat vegan on the go. This guide will help you eat vegan at Starbucks, Dunkin’ Donuts, Taco Bell, Chipotle, Wendy’s, Subway and Pizza Hut.